Volkswagen Amarok VS Toyota Hilux

Published on by Sybil Doms

 

Over the last year I often check to see which articles gets the most hits on my blog. To my surprise, my article about the Scirrocco VS Gholf 6 is the hot pot favourite, month-on-month! I decided to take up the challenge of test driving two cars again, this time with a little twist. As you know by now, I am a small town girl who comes from Robertson aka Toyota country. Like my close friend Louise once said: “Robertson is so patriotic towards Toyota that even the messed up old “bakkies” are Toyota”!

But this last week I decided to go the different route.... Volkswagen just launched their brand NEW “bakkie” called the Amarok which I decided to test drive and compare to the Hilux. This is only my personal opinion based on my own personal experience.

vw klein

I don’t want to bore you with “silly” specs, but I need to mention a few very interesting facts before I run you through my experience (pssssst...  keep it in mind when you try to persuade your husband or boyfriend to buy one for “himself”)!  The Amarok is Volkswagen’s first bakkie ever to be produced in Argentina.  It is built with a 2 litre engine unlike its counterpart, the Hilux, that’s a 3 litre engine. Now some of you may think a 2 litre means less power compared to a 3 litre..... I might just prove you otherwise (see the table below)!  As you all know, everything and anything is going green these days! It’s not just a fashion statement it is a necessity and it’s here to stay! The reason why Volkswagen decided on a 2 litre bakkie is because it works/drives on much less fuel (7.9 litre per 100km) compared to the Hilux (10.5 litre per 100km).

Another big reason for the 2l is because from next year ALL bakkies will be taxed on CO2 gas. This means that if you own a Amarok you will pay R7 524 tax per year and if you are the lucky owner of a Hilux you will be taxed R14 279 per year. Go and subtract the two..... R6 755! I could have bought a few pairs of shoes with that money! Thats only 2 reasons why.... Now you would wonder but does it still perform as well as the 3 litre Hilux in the sand or in the bush?  According to Morne that went to a  4x4 Amarok course/day  this Bad boy does. Apparently Toyota sent all of their car dealers on courses all around SA en Australia to teach them how to promote the Toyota  Hilux against clients that might be more interested in the Amarok than their own Hilux. Now that’s damage control for you!

toyota klien

Don’t understand me wrong, I have nothing against Toyota! I drive a RUN X and I love my car, but times have changed and the world has to change too. Toyota over the last 5 years have brought out nothing new regarding the Hilux Raider group when it comes to specs and interior. Now that’s where the Germans were clever.... They had enough time to study Toyota and to bring out a bakkie that’s better than the Hilux in a many of ways.  If you do not believe me, go for a test drive and you will be amazingly surprised,  just like I was!

 

Here is just an interesting little table that I would like to add for all my male readers  and female readers that’s as enthusiastic about cars as I am:

 

 

Model

VW AMAROK 2.0 BiTDi HIGHLINE D/CAB

TOYOTA HILUX 3.0 D-4D 4X4 RAIDER D/CAB

PRICE

R 390 000

R394 700

CO2 (g/kg)

208 g/kg

287 g/kg

CO2 TAX in Rand

R7 524

R14 279

POWER

120@4000

12@3400

TORQUE

400@1500-2000

343@1400-3200

TRANSMISSION

6 SPEED M, SELECTABLE 4WD, REAR DIFF LOCK

5 SPEED M, SELECTABLE 4 WD, REAR DIFF LOCK

SUSPENSION F

DOUBLE WISHBONE, COIL SPRINGS

DOUBLE WISHBONE, COIL SPRING

SUSPENSION R

SOLID AXIE, LEAF SPRING

SOLID AXIE, LEAF SPRING

BRAKING

EBD, OFF ROAD, ABS, ESP, HILL DESENT ASSIST, HILL HOLD ASSIST

ABS

GVM

2820 kg

2760 kg

LENGTH

5254 mm

5255 mm

WIDTH

1954 mm

1835 mm

HEIGHT

1834 mm

1850 mm

WHEELBASE

3095

3085

FUEL TANK

80 litre

80 litre

LITRES/100KM

7.9 litre

10.5 litre

TOWING CAPASITY

2800

1500

PAYLOAD

1047

870

SERVICE PLAN

5 years/90 000 km’s

5 years/90 000 km’s

SERVICE PER HOW MANY KM?

15 000 KM

10 000 KM

WARENTY

3 YEARS/100 000 KM

3 YEARS/100 000 KM

FILTER REPLACEMENT FOR DIESEL

15 000 KM

10 00O KM

 

Servicing after

woods

Every 15 000 km R1400-R2200 and every 120 000 km R6850 (depends on garage labour cost)

Between R1600 –R2400 for a small service (every 10 000 km). Over R3500 for a big service every 40 000 km. (depend on garage labour cost)

 

 


Now from a emotional point of view....


...I really enjoyed driving the Amarok! Not only is a great bakkie,  it’s ascetically pleasing with stylish lines, elegant interior and the comfort of a Touareg! I put together a clip that I posted on YouTube where you can see how the test drive went (link below). I would love to share a few things that caught my attention:

  1. On the inside, as a 1.83m tall lady, I found there was more than enough leg room in the front and in the back.  The seats cannot only adjust from front to back but also from side to side and the height is also adjustable. The back seats is what they call “cinema” seats which means that the angle follows the natural lines of your body. In a Toyota you sit up straight with minimal leg room.
  2. There is three 20W sockets in front where you can put your GPS, rather than sticking it on the windshield, as shown on the clip. There is also a socket on the back of the bakkie where you can plug in a fridge to keep your drinks or food cool when you go camping....
  3. The cup holders in the front  can  be used as a ashtray that is easy to use and clean.
  4. Climitronic... need I say more.
  5. My FAVOURITE – the REST button in front, which comes in handy when you go shopping and have to park in the sun. It basically keeps circulating cool air from the aircon that has been switched off to ensures that you get back into a nice cool bakkie rather than a oven!
  6. Then you can also add perks like Bluetooth which connects automatically to your phone when you get into the car .
  7. I love the fact that with a push of a button your bakkie can convert to a 4x4, even when  driving  120km/h. Mind blowing! Rear dif lock, on-road traction control... you name it and it’s available with the touch of a button!
  8. Next year they will be importing a single cab so watch this space! Plus bakkies with less interior perks with the same specs but less in price.
  9. The amazing interior that makes you feel like you are driving a car rather than a bakkie!
  10. The aerial that you would normally find on the roof is now situated inside the side mirror!
  11. If you ever have to transport a wooden pallet that they use on farms, especially fruit farms, the Amarok manufacturers made sure that there is enough space to fit them in perfectly. Plus you have a button in the front to switch on the light inside the back of the Canope.

 

Volkswagen really did their homework well and improved on everything that the Hilux currently has. So now all you have to do is weigh the two up and decide for yourself. I finally realized the other day why Volkswagens indicator is situated on the left side and not on the right.... I broke my right arm and only then did it make sense to me to have all your functions together on the left side in order for you to control you car with one hand without it being a haste! Noggals slim!

Please enjoy my video on the following link and post me your comments.

  



Just a special thanks to Morne Visagie McCarthy Volkswagen who is passionate about cars as I am. If you would like to book a test drive with him or book for the 4x4 day that they will be planning soon you can contact him at +27 21 929 6000 or mornev@mcmotor.co.za  

 

PS. Watch this post for the follow up 4X4 day article!

 

Ciao Till my next post

Sybil x 

 

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
H
Currently, you'll be able to use a new maid that may help you using property operate without needing to bother about deciding upon a new commitment as well as everything prefer that. Should your property requires cleanup along with you do not possess time for it to undertake it, you'll be able to use a person to perform the idea in your case. This specific is a great approach to preserve occasion along with commit the idea in various other points.
Reply
D
I go for the Volkswagen Amarok, because it has three drive concepts: rear wheel drive, Shiftable 4Motion and Permanent 4Motion. The Shiftable all wheel drive system can shift drive between the<br /> axles whereas the Permanent full time all wheel drive system distributes power through a Torque Sensing (Torsen) differential with a 40:60 ratio between the front and rear axles.
Reply